Funded twice by ERC in the Advanced Grant category in 2008 and 2015, Bernard L. Feringa became the recipient of the 2016 Nobel Prize for Chemistry as a result of his work in the synthesis and design of molecular machines. Bernard L. Feringa  shares the award with Jean-Pierre Sauvage and Sir J. Fraser Stoddart, and the Gröningen University of the Netherlands.

Prof. Feringa is a leading scientist in the field of rotating molecular machines. Scientific studies carried out by Feringa, which has developed the first molecular engine, are expected to play an important role in the development of molecular nanomachines and therefore nanorobots, and especially in the field of health, to reach breakthrough scientific output. Here you can find the ERC's news.

Prior to Prof. Feringa, five researchers (Prof. Konstantin Novoselov, Prof. Serge Haroche, Prof. Edvard I. Moser, Prof. May-Britt Moser and Prof. Jean Tirole) were awarded Nobel Prize after being funded by the ERC. ERC performance of our country is also increasing in recent years. Between 2012 and 2016, a total of 16 projects from Turkey were funded by ERC.