Created in 1998, the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science International Awards identify and support eminent women in science throughout the world. Each year, five Awards Laureates are recognized for their contributions to the advancement of science, in Life Sciences or Physical Sciences, in alternating years.

For the first time, the 2019 edition of the Awards will designate five outstanding scientific researchers in the Physical Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science working in the following regions:

  • Africa & the Arab States
  • Asia
  • Pacific
  • Europe
  • Latin America
  • North America

One candidate will be selected for each of the five regions, the determining factor being the place of work, not the nationality of the candidate. Each of the five Laureates will receive an award of €100,000.